Congratulations to the Australia Day honour recipients from Indi.

“The members of our community recognised this Australia Day are selfless and humble. They give back to the community, put their hands up when something needs to be done, and ensure others receive opportunities and care where they may otherwise be left behind,” Dr Haines said.

Recipients in Indi include:

Medal of the Order of Australia

Vincent Branigan OAM from Benalla has been recognised for his work as a teacher, youth mentor and volunteer work. He served as president of the Benalla Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club for 12 years. His membership of the St Vincent de Paul Society and the Connect9 program through the Tomorrow Today Foundation have been recognised.

David and Vickie Cottee OAM have been recognised for their contribution to the community of Talgarno, through martial arts, first aid and horses. The couple have served as volunteer first responders with the local Community Emergency Response Team and have donated their time to provide first aid services to local events.

Sandi Grieve OAM has been recognised for her decades of service to the Walwa community at the Walwa Bush Nursing Hospital, including as CEO since 2003. Sandi’s work during the 2019-2020 bushfires and dedication to the isolated community during the pandemic has been vital.

Allison Jenvey OAM has served on many boards and committees in the Wodonga community, including her current role as chair of Wodonga TAFE. She has served as president of the Wodonga Chamber of Commerce, chair of the Rural Housing Network and the Victorian TAFE Association. She has also been a member of the Albury Wodonga Health board for six years.

Malcolm McEachern OAM has been recognised for 15 years as a Wodonga councillor, including a term as mayor. He served as president and secretary of the Wodonga Lions Club and co-ordinated the Wodonga Gentleman’s Coffee Club.

Helen McIntosh OAM of Beechworth has been honoured for decades of serving on various local committees, including a longstanding commitment to the Red Cross. Mrs McIntosh has contributed to groups including neighbourhood watch, meals on wheels, Probus, the op shop and church and school councils.

Robyn Smith OAM of Benalla has been recognised for her contribution to disability and sport. She is the chief executive of Sport Inclusion Australia and has travelled all over the world as chef de mission for Global Games competitions. As well as her national and international contributions, she coaches netball and established the Benalla Walk to DFeet MND in 2008.

Emergency Service Medal

Keith O’Brien ESM of Benalla has been recognised for decades of service to the State Emergency Service, first in NSW and then in Victoria. As well as years of volunteering, he has also served as regional manager and as assistant chief officer for the last seven years. His work includes developing the Alpine Search and Survival Course.

Ambulance Service Medal

Jo Brookes ASM of the Mitta Valley has been recognised for her work first as a volunteer then career paramedic, serving the Mitta Valley and Towong communities. As the paramedic community support coordinator, after the Black Summer fires she developed a process to ensure remote areas could be accessed for first aid and necessary care, and supported ambulance officers and paramedics in the wake of the fires.

Ian Dunell ASM of Pheasant Creek has been recognised for his volunteer work as a Community Emergency Response Team member, the last ten years of which have been as team leader. He played an instrumental rol in rebuilding Kinglake’s CERT following the Black Saturday bushfires.

Frances Scott ASM of Woods Point has been recognised for more than 30 years of service to the Woods Point Ambulance Community Officer Team. Fran is team leader, responding to remote jobs and treating patients and transferring them to Air Ambulance Victoria and flight paramedics.

Sign up

Keep up to date with the latest news and information