October 27, 2020

House of Representatives

Today, I rise in the House to speak about the recent Keep Australia Beautiful Tidy Towns Awards held online on 14 October this year.

It is my pleasure to confirm Beechworth, a picturesque former goldmining town in my electorate of Indi, the overall winner for 2020. What an achievement in a field of towns right across Australia.

Beechworth was also declared winner in three of the nine categories including Litter Prevention, Environmental Sustainability and Energy, and Environmental Communication and Engagement.

Running since 1990, the Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns Awards build awareness of the importance of community-led environmental action. Beechworth has been at the forefront of this action and was recognised for its long-established dedication to the community and to sustainability.

The commitment to consultation and collaboration demonstrates the pride and spirit its community has in this beautiful town. Beechworth is indeed a worthy winner. Congratulations to the Indigo Shire, to Iris Mannik, Anne Wilson, and the whole Beechworth Tidy Towns Committee, and all other partners that made this happen.

And my congratulations also goes out to the other finalists who are all litterly just as proud of their communities, Mount Gambier, Nhulunbuy, Bunbury, Murrurundi, Gympie and Wilmot.

Sign up

Keep up to date with the latest news and information